Posted by: abegley08 | July 16, 2008

Liqurious

If you love your liquor in pretty colors and with high price tags then check out Notcot’s new branch, Liqurious. Notcot and her sister sites are colorful compilations of some of the interweb’s best blogs. It’s like a dictionary of fresh, an almanac of cool. Liqurious almost fills the void that Tastespotting’s shutdown left, but it’s a little too “fruity girl drink” for me so far. I’ll give it time, it’s still a young blog, but they do have a couple of really interesting beer finds that I thought I’d weed out and share with you. I’m looking forward to exploring all of these sites.

Lambic Sorbet

If there is anything more divine than this I will renounce everything I believe in as holy (Tina Fey, dark chocolate, and Chimay Grand Reserve) and adopt whatever it is as my new savior.

Oki Pint Glasses

Inverted glasses are the new hot and these are really fun. I also need some new pint glasses since UPS destroyed my collection in the move.

Beer Based Cocktails: Celebrating the end of Prohibition

Prohibition was a sad time in American history (yeah, I’ve seen The Untouchables), so celebrate the 75 years that we’ve been able to get sloshed on good hops! Some of these are really interesting and I can’t wait to try these, especially the Shandy. Anyone up for a tasting this weekend? I’ll report back here on how they turned out.

Farmhouse Ale: Trois Monts

I’ve never had Bière de Garde or farmhouse ales but my dad swears by their sweetness and their description of a spicy, malty taste sounds heavenly. This blog is an interesting food and beer blog with some beautiful pictures and interesting stories. I’m just starting to get into it but I encourage everyone to check it out.

Beer Belly? Here’s Help

Keep this in mind next time you think you want to scratch at the colorful mountains on the Sierra Nevada label instead of wrapping your hands around a pint of Guinness.

Brewberry Brownies

This site reminded me of Candy J. who recently sent me the recipe for chocolate stout brownies! YUM! Can’t wait to test out this recipe.

Double Bastard

Just so you know, my birthday is at the end of next month and this is what I want. I’ve been drinking Arrogant Bastard with my dad for a while now (he’s always the first person to introduce me to my favorite beers) and double bastard would go in my trophy case.

That’s all for now. I’ll be touring the Shiner Brewery at some point next month and hope to have some good pix and interviews for you when I get back.

P.S. in case you were interested, here is Candy’s recipe:

King Arthur Flour Chocolate Stout Cake
Soft chocolate ganache frosting
12 oz. bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped
1 1/2 cups (12 oz.) heavy cream
1 tsp. vanilla extract
Cake
1 cup (8 oz) stout beer (which means 4 oz. for you! Or the rest of the six pack. Whatevs)
1 cup (2 sticks, 8 oz.) unsalted butter
3/4 cup (2 1/4 oz.) unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
2 cups (8 oz.) whole wheat flour, traditional or white whole wheat
2 cups (14 oz.) sugar
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. salt
2 large eggs
6 tablespoons (3 oz.) sour cream
1 cup (6 oz.) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips (optional, but amazing)
To make the frosting: Make the frosting first, since it needs time to set up in the refrigerator. Place the chopped chocolate in a large heatproof bowl. Bring the cream to a simmer in a heavy medium saucepan. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate, and stir until the mixture is completely smooth. Stir in the vanilla. refrigerate until the icing is spreadable, stirring occasionally, about 2 hours.
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350F. Place 24 cupcake liners in 2 cupcake pans. Place the stout and butter in a large heavy saucepan, and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Remove the pan from the heat, add the cocoa and whisk until the mixture is smooth. Set aside to cool.
Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Beat together the eggs and sour cream in a large mixing bowl. Add the chocolate stout mixture, mixing to combine. Add the flour mixture and mix together at slow speed. Scrape the sides and bottom of the mixing bowl, add the chocolate chips, if using, and mix again for 1 minute. Pour the batter into the eagerly waiting cupcake liners.
Bake the cake until a tester comes out clean, around 20 minutes (check at 15).
**disclaimer: I can’t take credit for any photos, recipes, websites, or information on this post. All photos are courtesy of the linked websites. xoxox — a.b.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

